If You Love Conspiracy Theories (Or Know Someone Who Does), Watch This | Michael Shermer



This episode is sponsored by CuriosityStream. Go to https://curiositystream.thld.co/IMPACTjune and use code IMPACT to save 25% off today, that’s only $14.99 a year. What utility do your beliefs have in your everyday life? From the way you decide on political issues to the way you tune out dissenting views, and decide against conversations with certain people every choice is backed by some belief in what you consider to be right. Michael Shermer, who I dubbed, the King Skeptic, joins me and discusses why free speech matters most when people don't want to hear it, and the power behind social signaling that helps shed light on some of the breakdowns being seen on a global scale. Michael’s ability to think through strong opposing arguments searching for truth and charitable interpretation and tolerance for others is foundational. Order Michael Shermer’s book, Giving The Devil His Due: https://amzn.to/2TWVvfq SHOW NOTES:
0:00 | Introduction to Michael Shermer
1:45 | Using Skepticism for Truth
3:49 | Allow Facts to Change Your Mind
7:18 | Skeptical Free Thinker of Science
11:56 | Deciding Truth in Uncertainty
17:17| Science of Disproving Theories
23:12 | Hypothesis in Everyday LIfe
27:50 | Losing Truth to Social Signaling
35:20 | Protecting Free-Speech, Opposing Voices
42:21 | When Words Are Too Powerful
48:31 | Negativity of Gossip
51:16 | Principle of Charitable Interpretation
57:06 | Motives in Context of Environment
1:01:37 | Separating Truths, Your Want Vs. What Is
1:05:31 | Mining Data and Contrary Beliefs
1:08:16 | Fact Checking Sources
1:14:02 | Michael on Why Now Matters
1:18:27 | Michael on Atheism, Values, & Morals
1:26:01 | Theory of Ethics and Animal Cruelty
1:29:26 | Value of Incremental Change
1:33:07 | Hearing the People You Disagree With QUOTES: “much of decision making about truth is made under uncertainty.” [14:31] “if you want to speak out, because you don't believe this ideology, and you see your neighbor, you know, hauled off and you never see him again, it's like, ‘I'm keeping my mouth shut.’” [33:02] “if the only answer could be I'm 100% behind it. Or else, I'm not gonna say anything. Well, that's not good for society.” “so social media is basically taking this natural human propensity to talk about other people. And marrying it to the negativity bias where we notice negative things more than positive things.” [50:26] “losses hurt twice as much as gains feel good.” [50:46] “try to separate what I want to be true from what is actually true.” [1:04:01] “ it's good to remember on commercial television, there's commercials. And so the content is basically whatever it takes to get people to get from one commercial to the next with that clicking away.” [1:07:25] “if you're going to write a law, you should write it in a way that you don't know which group you're going to be in,” [1:20:03] “put yourself in the position of you're the lone voice. And do you or do you not want to be heard? Of course, people want to be heard. So free speech is for those with whom we disagree.” [1:34:29] Follow Michael Shermer:
Website: https://michaelshermer.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/michaelshermer
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Michael.Brant.Shermer
Podcast: https://www.skeptic.com/michael-shermer-show/

You can see more Self Help Videos, Spirituality Videos, Personal Development Videos, Metaphysics Videos, on this website, as well as read Self Help Books, Spirituality Books, Personal Growth Books, Metaphysics Books, Psychology, Philosophy or Mysteries, in the links highlighted in this paragraph.

Buy Spirituality Products – Amazon USA Buy Self Help Products – Amazon EE.UU Buy Personal Development Books in Amazon EEUU Buy Spirituality Books in USA Buy Self Help Books in USA Comprar Libros de Desarrollo Personal en Amazon España Comprar Libros de Desarrollo Personal en Amazon México Comprar Libros de Espiritualidad en España Comprar Libros de Espiritualidad en México

Buy the best Books, Videos and Audios of Self Help, Spirituality, Personal Development, Mystery, Meditation, Psychology, Health, Alternative Therapies, Personal Growth, Love, as well as other related products on Amazon.  Self-help videos, personal development videos, personal growth videos, spirituality videos, mystery videos, metaphysics videos, psychology videos, alternative therapy videos, meditation videos, health videos, Love videos, videos to find Peace, positive thinking videos, Webs News and Blogs of Personal Development Books, Self Help Books, Spirituality Books, Mystery Books, Meditation Books, Psychology Books, Alternative Therapy Books, Personal Growth Books, Love Books , Positive Thinking Books, Inner Peace Books, Mind Books, Body, Spirit, Philosophy books, Reiki, Sacred Geometry, Mindfulness Books, Occult Books, Yoga, Esotericism books to be happy, overcoming books, Happiness, Peace, Anxiety , Depression, Motivation, Success, Prosperity, Fiction Books, Hermeticism, New Age Videos, Fantasy, Magic, Nonfiction, Health, Paranormal, New Age Books, Supernatural, Parapsychology, Enigmas.

Use of cookies

Use of cookies and privacy policy: This website / blog uses cookies for you to have the best user experience. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent for the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies. Click the link for more information. Our cookies policy, click the link for more information.plugin cookies

ACEPTAR
Aviso de cookies